Skip to content ↓

Sir Christopher Hatton


Religious Education



Key Stage 3 Curriculum Details:

Subjects will cover a wide range of topics in RE to help develop their understanding of the beliefs held in modern, multicultural Britain and the wider world. Pupils will learn about the world’s major religions in a variety of ways, these are; exploring the religion on its own, exploring the way different religions approach important topics or as part of topics about ethical dilemmas learners may face as they develop into well-rounded citizens.

Key Stage 4 Curriculum Details:

At Key Stage 4, pupils study the new AQA GCSE Religious Studies A specification. This specification focuses on two aspects. The first, component 1, is on the key ideas of two major world religions, being Judaism and Christianity.  In this component, students undertake a study of the key philosophical and moral principles of different world belief perspectives. In component 2, students examine key themes within the modern world. Notably, students have the opportunity to examine in detail themes such as family and relationships, crime and punishment, human rights and justice and more. They analyse all of these issues from non-religious, personal and religious perspectives to come to a balanced and reflective view on issues raised.

Key Stage 5 Curriculum Details:

At Key Stage 5, students cover a variety of philosophical, religious and moral issues. They complete an examination on Philosophy, Ethics and developments in religion, each of which carries a weighting of roughly 33%. In Philosophy, students study a range of topics from the development of Greek philosophy through to how we can gain genuine knowledge. In ethics, students study a series of non-religious and religious ethical ideas, and learn to apply them to modern world issues such as euthanasia and business ethics. In the developments unit, students will look at how religions cope philosophically with new ideas and changes in the modern world.