Skip to content ↓

Physical Education

Head of Department: Mr J Hughes

Key Stage 3

Students in Year 7 and 8 cover a variety of sports for 8 weeks. These include Invasion, Net/Wall and Striking and Fielding Games, Trampolining, Dance, Athletics, Outdoor Education and Health Related Fitness (HRF).     

Key Stage 4

Students can opt to do the BTEC Level 2 in Sport. This involves completing and being assessed in the following units; Practical Sport, Sports Leadership, Fitness for Sport and Exercise and The Sports Performer in Action. Assessment is largely through assignments graded as Pass, Merit or Distinction. Fitness for Sport and Exercise is assessed as an external examination.     

Key Stage 5

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate In Sport.   

This qualification is equivalent in size to an A level and is designed to support progression to higher education when taken as part of study which includes other Btec or A level courses.

4 units will be covered

  1. Anatomy and Physiology - assessed by an external examination
  2. Fitness Training for sport - assessed externally by controlled assessment tasks
  3. Professional development in sport - assessed internally by written coursework
  4. Sports Leadership - assessed internally by written coursework